ASC Steering Committee


Several of the newly elected members of the ASC Steering Committee, appointed at the Conflict transformation Encounter in October 2014, have already begun to get involved in planning for 2015. The newly appointed members mean that the Steering Committee now far better reflects the make up of the broader network, with current reps drawn from 6 countries across the continent and around the world.

Discussions have also begun that are aimed at identifying mechanisms for strengthening and broadening the links between the ASC staff and the Steering Committee. It is envisaged that over the course of the next few months additional capacity will be brought in to assist in servicing the SC and supporting the governance aspects of the organisation.

This will be a critical year for the ASC as we seek to take stock of what has been achieved over the past 5 years, plan a strategy for 2016-2020, and strengthen leadership, management and governance structures at all levels. All members will be requested to get involved in this process, so please watch this space, keep focused on our website and Facebook pages, and start thinking now about what being involved in the ACTION for Conflict transformation network has meant for your own personal, organisational and professional development.

The current Steering Committee members, outlined below, will be in office until October 2015, at which point 4 members will stand down, handing over the baton to a new wave of leaders.

Current members are:

Fatima Swartz (South Africa
Richard Smith (South Africa)
Mxolisi Len Khalane (South Africa)
Jabu Dhladhla (South Africa)
Baht Latumbo (Phillipines)
Sophie Mayisela (South Africa)
Halima Shuria (Kenya)
Jacinta Jorge (Mozambique)
Richard Tanto Ndi (Cameroon)
Steve Mulumba Kongolo (DRC)